Children’s Song: My Brothers and Sisters are Black like me!

In the Service of our Ancestors and African Love,
Listen Seeker, I come in peace,

“If the Master teaches what is error, the disciple’s submission is slavery; if he teaches truth, this submission is ennoblement.” — African Proverb

What are the songs of our youth and what consequences will those songs bring? The children express the consequences to us. Girls of four know to balance on their heads shaking their premature hips and boys of seven reciprocate the performance with senseless slaps on her body. Will this acculturation lead to a love or hatred of self? As the women strut with contacts and wigs and the men with sagged pants and stab marks, will the race be ennobled or enslaved?

In twenty minutes I wrote this song. My regret is I could not write it in Ki-Swahili or Medu Neter. Sing it with our youth. Remember, many adults know of “Goldilocks,” “The Three Little Pigs” and “Red Riding Hood,” not because we are obsessed with Eurocentric children’s stories but because the first seven years of life are the formative years. Either we as Africans take those seven years and ennoble ourselves or we lose them to others who aim to enslave us. “Sing a song, full of the hope that the present has brought us” (Black National Anthem.)

I intend to upload the audio in the future, as well as the translated versions, so subscribe, donate, return and assist. Notice that after the first two stanzas the song repeats indefinitely (only two repetitions added.)

My Brothers and Sisters are Black like me!
By Onitaset Kumat

My Brothers and Sisters are
For whom I have concern
My Brothers and Sisters are
From whom alone I learn
My Brothers and Sisters are
With whom I always earn
My Brothers and Sisters are
Black Like Me!

Black Like Me!
My Brothers and Sisters are
Black Like Me!
For me they are responsible
Black Like Me!
From every boy to every girl
Black Like Me!
To them I am responsible.

My Brothers and Sisters are
For whom I have concern
My Brothers and Sisters are
From whom alone I learn
My Brothers and Sisters are
With whom I always earn
My Brothers and Sisters are
Black Like Me!

Black Like Me!
My Brothers and Sisters are
Black Like Me!
For me they are responsible
Black Like Me!
From every boy to every girl
Black Like Me!
To them I am responsible.

My Brothers and Sisters are
For whom I have concern
My Brothers and Sisters are
From whom alone I learn
My Brothers and Sisters are
With whom I always earn
My Brothers and Sisters are
Black Like Me!

Black Like Me!
My Brothers and Sisters are
Black Like Me!
For me they are responsible
Black Like Me!
From every boy to every girl
Black Like Me!
To them I am responsible.

Please ask any questions that come to mind

