Play: Inevitable Daughter — Act 3-1

Back to Introduction

Inevitable Daughter Act 3-1
An African Blood Siblings Play

Characters: Nigeria, Mrs. Thompson, Leah Thompson in a Mask [as Jane], Judge Tom in a Mask [as Mr. Puxt], Sister Dallas Ng, Isiah East in a Mask [as Melville]
Setting: Prison (two chairs)

(Nigeria sits alone speaking with herself)

Nigeria: See Isiah, we didn’t get caught. I protected you. You had to die. Your death won’t be in vain. I won’t confess. I won’t confess.
Mrs. Thompson (offscreen): I’ll only take a moment.
(Mrs. Thompson enters and takes a seat)
Mrs. Thompson: Nigeria, my baby, please pray with me.
Nigeria: I told you all not to come.
Mrs. Thompson: Leah and Somal haven’t come. It’s only me. Please pray with me.
Nigeria: Don’t bother me with your religion.
Mrs. Thompson: Nigeria, please, your soul is at stake.
Nigeria: Let me to my soul then. I’ve no will to live on. I’ve done wrong, Mother, I don’t deserve to be saved.
Mrs. Thompson: It was wrong to kill that White boy, but everyone deserves to be saved. Turn to Jesus my child.
Nigeria: I didn’t only kill him, Mom.
(Mrs. Thompson jumps back)
Mrs. Thompson: Well that’s the only death I heard about.  All can be saved, trust in the Lord, and you will be saved too.
Nigeria: The people outside burn the cross. In rallying for my death, they put their trust in the Lord. How can I put my trust in the same Lord? How can you?
Mrs. Thompson: There’s no reason to be Philosophical.
Nigeria: That’s all I can be behind these walls. Please leave.
Mrs. Thompson: I’ll go. Please consider praying.
(Mrs. Thompson rises to leave)
Mr. Puxt (offscreen): It’ll only be a moment.
(Mr. Puxt enters)
Mr. Puxt: Nigeria, I–oh, hello, Ms?
Mrs. Thompson: Mrs. Thompson.
Mr. Puxt: Nigeria’s Mother, I take it?
Mrs. Thompson: You are correct. And you are?
Mr. Puxt: Mr. Puxt, it seems our children knew each other.
(Mrs. Thompson fixes her posture)
(Mr. Puxt begins to weep)
Mrs. Thompson: I am very sorry for your loss, Mr. Puxt. If you will excuse me.
(Mrs. Thompson exits)
(Mr. Puxt takes a seat)
Mr. Puxt: Nigeria, I do not wish to take up much of your time. Can you just tell me why you did it?
Nigeria: Who said I did it?
Mr. Puxt: You’re horrible, Nigeria. You know you did it. We paid you. We gave you work. We kept your family sheltered. We gave you an opportunity to become someone. And you killed my son, falsified a ransom note, and after a week here, you still can’t admit what you did. You’re horrible. I regret coming here. I regret helping the Democrats! I regret you!
(Mr. Puxt rises to leave)
Nigeria: Whatever.
Mr. Puxt: Well I never!
(Mrs. Thompson re-enters)
(Mrs. Thompson goes onto her knees before Mr. Puxt)
Mrs. Thompson: Mr. Puxt, please spare my daughter’s life. You have the Power. You have the looks; just like Jesus. Please help my daughter. Please, oh please, Mr. Puxt.  I’ll work for you for the rest of my life.  Please.  Our home is surrounded everyday, and we’re being made to leave.  Please save my daughter!
(Mr. Puxt looks at Nigeria, who now casts her head down in shame)
Mr. Puxt: It’s too late. I couldn’t if I wanted to. If you’ll excuse me.
(Mrs. Thompson rises)
Mrs. Thompson: Nigeria, please pray.
Nigeria: Please leave.
(Mrs. Thompson leaves)
Nigeria: No one knows about you, Isiah. I won’t confess. I won’t let you die in vain.
Jane (offscreen): Give me a moment, will you?
(Jane enters and takes a seat)
Jane: Cousin–I–I don’t know what to say to you. You tried to frame my boyfriend’s murder on me. And maybe you had a good reason to? You also tried to frame my boyfriend’s murder on the African Blood Siblings. Maybe they did you wrong too? I don’t understand it. And I can see how, I really have a lot more to understand about African people. I don’t know if you hate me or something, but I only tried to introduce you to Black Power, and I don’t know if there’s anything wrong in that. You killed my boyfriend, my one true love, the man I wanted to marry, and yet, I can’t stop thinking maybe I did something wrong. Cousin, Nigeria, the African Blood Siblings is sending over a lawyer named Dallas Ng, please, please welcome her. If anyone can save you, she can. I really don’t know how to feel. I wish Eddie were alive, and I wish I knew why he was dead. But I want you to listen to Dallas Ng. Please. I finally lost something dear to me. I am experiencing something new, which is probably old to many other people. Please, Nigeria, listen to Dallas Ng.
(Jane starts crying and leaves)
Dallas (offscreen): This is the room.
(Dallas enters)
Dallas: Hotep Nigeria. I am Sister Dallas Ng an African Blood Siblings Ethical Philosopher. Nice to meet you.
Nigeria: Who are you acting for?
Dallas: What do you mean?
Nigeria: You said it was ‘nice to meet me.’ How could it be?
Dallas: You’re my Sister. It’s always nice to meet one’s Sister.
Nigeria: Jane and you continually act like we’re family. We’re not. Jane calls me “Cousin” and you call me “Sister,” how do you figure this?
Dallas: I take it Jane is European?
Nigeria: What of it?
Dallas: Then she calls herself your Cousin for Europe is her Mother and Europe is Africa’s Sister.  It’s also why we don’t call Europeans “Siblings.” Well, we don’t in the African Blood Siblings anyway.
Nigeria: That’s clever and all, but I’m not in the position to appreciate whatever you call that.  I’m to be executed soon.
Dallas: Not necessarily, I want to be your Lawyer. You had called us hadn’t you? You wrote our name on your ransom note, do you remember?
Nigeria: I never confessed.
Dallas: It’s settled. I am privy to the investigation, the case against you is airtight. You had covered your tracks, but the Puxt’s have money.  You have to be more careful with which Whites you kill.
Nigeria: I didn’t mean to kill him, you know?
Dallas: What do you mean by that?
Nigeria: We were hiding under a table after a few drinks. Mr. Puxt came to the office to see if I stole anything. I didn’t want to be discovered after hours, so I covered Eddie’s mouth and before I knew it he was dead.
Dallas: Understandable. Puxt was your Employer seeking a way to fire you. The job was important to you because you need money to live. Your survival was at stake so Puxt was effectively looking to kill you. Your reaction was to deceive Puxt, but your effort, due the relentlessness of Puxt, made you accidentally kill his son. In essence Puxt’s will to kill you killed his son. That’s a story good enough for a play.
Nigeria: It might be, but this is my life. And the way you put it scares me. It’s so precise and it was very easily conceived by you. How can you see so much?
Dallas: Nigeria, the Lions of the Savannah can not conceive Zoo life. And the Lions of the Zoo can not conceive Savannah life. But a Lion born to one and switched to another can see the differences more sharply and this is my advantage over you. We were both born into a dependent, impoverished, individualistic setting, but through the African Blood Siblings I led a Sisterhood that created a Prosperous, Independent African Community; therefore I can see the problems you and yours have, even the one’s you never thought about.
Nigeria: Really?
Dallas: Really. For instance, you never loved Isiah and Isiah never loved you. You both knew this.
(Nigeria covers her face)
Dallas: Do not hide your shame. What you did to him was Inevitable. You got together because that’s the local norm, but neither of you could have discovered or fulfilled the other. Love is a three-step process, “Know Thyself; Be Thyself; Complete Thyself.” In your circumstances, created entirely by the European, Knowledge of Self was unlikely and Being of Self impossible. Isiah was not your complement. You were oppressed to not even be able to Love. Your highest opinion was of Europeans. And that whole opinion was mythical.
Nigeria: You are saying a million things in ten words.  “Know Thyself?”  “Mythical?”
Dallas: Entirely. Even their Criminal-Justice system that you accept is a sham. You live in an African setting, what authority do Europeans have to deem you unfit? Can a gazelle decide if a hyena is unfit for hyena company?  Though your Racial Mother is African, you are European America’s Inevitable Daughter. They forged the whole circumstance of your existence and after leading your life down this deadend, they will to kill you. Well not if I can help it. You are deserving of so much more. You’re a young Sister who can with training learn to truly love. If I can help it, you will get that opportunity and join the righteous African Blood Siblings. Let me be your lawyer.
Nigeria: You are clearly intelligent.  You give me hope. Please be my lawyer.
Dallas: It’s settled. Now I won’t have to file for amicus curiae.
Nigeria: What’s that?
Dallas: When a court case may effect Africans as a whole, organized Africans have an obligation to file amicus curiae to be heard in the case despite not being the litigants. As I am your lawyer, I don’t need to. Our people will be heard.
Nigeria: How come I never heard of amicus curiae before?
Dallas: Europeans constructed your circumstances. Anyway, I have to prepare your arguments, I’ll see you again.  Don’t talk to any Europeans.  Don’t sign any confessions.  I repeat, don’t talk to any Europeans and don’t sign any confessions.
Nigeria: I won’t.  Take care!
(Dallas exits)
Nigeria: A swell, strong, Powerful Sister. Why, Isiah, do I only now know of this potential?  But she underestimates me and overestimates White people.  I can hold my own against their best.
Melville (offscreen): Here she is.
(Melville enters and takes a seat)
Nigeria: Who are you?
Melville: I won’t be very patient. I am your worst nightmare.
Nigeria: How so?
Melville: You’ll learn that, that will be your mistake.  I am the District Attorney.
Nigeria: I don’t need to talk to you without my Lawyer present.
Melville: No you don’t. For I already know you killed Eddie Puxt.
Nigeria: I didn’t confess. And I won’t.
Melville: Silly girl, you don’t have to. Because I already know you killed Mack Endal.
Nigeria: Who?
Melville: Don’t play dumb. We found your other gun at his crime scene two years ago.  Plus his Sister pointed you out as you slept.
Nigeria: Huh?
Melville: How heartless. We also have you for killing Dessel Ines.
Nigeria: I never heard of him.
Melville: Next time ask your Murder victims for their names. You’re going down. We have you for 6 murder and rape counts over the last 12 years.
Nigeria: What nonsense! You’re trying to accuse me of raping and killing people since elementary school. That’s ludicrous!
Melville: Are you saying you didn’t rape Eddie?
Nigeria: Eddie tried to rape me. I didn’t rape Eddie.
Melville: But didn’t you rape Isiah East?
Nigeria: I–
Melville: Thought we didn’t know that you raped and killed your boyfriend, huh?
Nigeria: I–
Melville: Now I don’t know if you can hear the chants outside. But let’s not drag out the court process. Your new lawyer may have given you some hope of a successful case, but she’s only going to use you for her own ends. She doesn’t care about you, no one does. You raped a boy, chopped him up, then raped and killed your own boyfriend. You even raped and killed Mack, Dessel, Tuss, and Cecile. And honestly, we can forget about those four, even your boyfriend, because as vile as you are to Blacks, I’m concerned about your treatment of Eddie.  Just prepare to confess, and this drama of a court case can be put to rest. You can even go to the hospital for those injuries.  Don’t fight us. Lay down. It’s ok, to lose.
Nigeria: Dallas said–
Melville: Give it up.  Dallas will go back to her Organization.  You will die.  You think White people are going to let you get away with raping and chopping up one of our Son’s?
(Nigeria lowers her head and extends her hand for the papers)
Melville: That’s a good girl.  It’s like taking candy from a baby.  I’ll get the confession papers. You know, you really dodged a bullet.  We might actually give you mercy.
(Melville exits)
Nigeria: Sorry, Isiah. We did get caught.  And maybe it will finally sink in.  I’m not that strong.  I’m truly sorry.

(Scene end)

(Leah and Somal Thompson block the stage with the white sheet to signify a scene change)

Please ask any questions that come to mind

