Play: Inevitable Daughter — Act 1-3

Back to Introduction

Inevitable Daughter Act 1-3
An African Blood Siblings Play

Characters: Nigeria, Judge Tom in a Mask [as Mr. Puxt], Somal in a Mask [as Eddie Puxt]
Setting: Office (The table with a chair on its right.)

(Nigeria assists a drunken Eddie into the Office)

Eddie: Sit me down here. And spread that nice cloth we bought on the table.
(Nigeria aids Eddie into the chair and puts the cloth on the table [it doesn’t cover the right or front side])
Eddie: See it looks wonderful. I am sorry that I drank so much. It’s so late.
Nigeria: Mr. Eddie, it’s ok.
Eddie: Nigeria?
Nigeria: Yes.
Eddie: That was the first time you called me Eddie.
Nigeria: I suppose it was.
Eddie: Though you shouldn’t call me Mister. I’m younger than you.
Nigeria: Sorry Eddie.
Eddie: I like how you say my name.
Nigeria: Maybe alcohol really uninhibits?
Eddie: Or maybe it makes us comfortable.
(Eddie stands up)
Nigeria: I’m not comfortable. We’re in the Office way after hours.
Eddie: Alone no less.
Nigeria: Your Father appears to be out after me. What will he think of me being in this Office so late?
Eddie: He won’t think anything of it. We went through the back exit. There’s no proof that you are here. I had this arranged for when Jane would spend the night.
Nigeria: In your Office?
Eddie: Yes, and you are welcome to spend the night–tonight–if you know what I mean.
Nigeria: Eddie, how can you say that after we just spent time with Jane?
Eddie: How can you ask that after 400 years of Oppression? And 4,000 years of so-called European Civilization? What makes you think either the White man is faithful or preferential to White women? And how can he be? Look at you. You are beautiful. Have you never heard of Saartjie Baartman? A woman openly denounced as a freak of nature yet frequented by men, married and otherwise. Have you never heard of Queen Califia? The rumored leader of a race of Black women; for her was California named and populated by men willing to leave house and family for women who look as you do. And have you never heard of child sex labour? Men of Europe, to this day, take “business trips” in Africa and the Caribbean to take advantage of the spoiled economies of Africans; especially the starvation of desperate African children. And our women are no more savory. They make the same trips for your Black men. You had to hear of Rent-a-Rasta. You had to hear of sex work as their first occupation. You had to have come across a Brothel. Where even a century ago, sixteen-year-olds would service 130 men in five nights. With all this, why would you think I would consider Jane?
Nigeria: Well I have a Boyfriend!
Eddie: And I have a Girlfriend. But I’m in accordance with your ancestor, Dr. Khalid Muhammad, “You will never see me with a blonde-haired, blue-eyed, pale-skin, stringy-haired, buttermilk complexion, straight up but straight down ironing board backside, miss six o’clock, no frills, no thrills, subject to have the itch, White Caaaaaavvvveeee Bitch! Never will you see me do that!” At least not for a thrill. My eyes are set upon you and I will get you to see things my way–or die trying.
Nigeria: You need to get away from me.
Eddie: I finally understand White Power. I finally understand why there is no legal recourse for an African Rape victim from a European man; I finally understand why Black Women are paid by White men less than White women and Black men; I finally understand why your Miseducation glorifies White men and makes Black men speak against you; you are oppressed to be sexually available to me. Only now do I see the Wisdom of our ways. I want you and I will have you. This is not the alcohol talking, but my privileges. I finally embrace White Power as all Whites will. You will come to me now, Nigeria. You are mine.
(He creeps after her as she motions for her gun)
Nigeria: You’re drunk. You need to get away.
Eddie: What can you possibly do?
(A grumbling noise sounds offstage)
Nigeria: Did you hear that?
(The noise repeats)
Eddie: I don’t care what it is.
(The noise repeats)
Nigeria: Get under the table.
Eddie: Only if you come down there with me.
(The noise repeats)
Nigeria: We have to.
Eddie: Wow, White Power is pretty good.
(They climb under the table)
(Eddie raises his hands to touch her but Nigeria holds them)
Nigeria: We can’t make a noise be very quiet.
Eddie: I just want to say–
(Nigeria covers his mouth while Eddie struggles with her hands)
(Mr. Puxt enters)
Mr. Puxt: That Negro left the light on. Dumbass.
(Eddie motions responsively but Nigeria holds him down)
Mr. Puxt: Is there someone here?
(Nigeria struggles to restrain Eddie, her hand on his mouth always.)
(Mr. Puxt searches the place never looking under the table.)
Mr. Puxt: That stupid Negro put a new table covering. Psshh. And it smells like liquor in here. That Jane must have visited. I hate that Negrophile. But thinking here, maybe I shouldn’t check this office daily? Maybe weekly is better. Besides, who would do something wrong on their first day? I wonder what that noise was. Maybe a rat? Stupid Negro didn’t take out the garbage. It smells like someone died in here.
(Mr. Puxt turns to leave then doubles back looking at the Table)
Mr. Puxt: Wait a second. There they are!
(Nigeria tightens her grip on Eddie as Mr. Puxt feels around in his pocket)
Mr. Puxt: I’m glad I didn’t lock these keys in my car again. Whatever, I’ll get out of here. I’ll yell at that Negro tomorrow.
(Mr. Puxt exits [leaving on the light])
(A far away noise signifies Mr. Puxt is far away)
Nigeria: Wow that was close, right Eddie? Now I want to explain to you why your ideas of–
(Eddie doesn’t respond or move)
Nigeria: Eddie? Eddie?!? Eddie!!?!? Mr. EDDIEE!!!!
(Nigeria puts her hand near his neck to check his vitals then closes his eyes)
Nigeria: He’s dead. Oh what have I done? No, what must I now do? I killed a man.  A White man.  There’s no time for regret.  I need to get this body from here and clean up all evidence of this murder.  I must throw this body away now. But, he won’t fit in a garbage bag this way. I’ll use my knife.  I’ll cut him up. And I won’t tell anyone. Eddie was supposed to be gone tomorrow anyway. I’ll just say he went to work. No one will suspect me. No, no one will suspect me. I’ll just be invisible. Oh what did I do? I have to chop this body up. And toss him out with the trash. Or drive the parts away very far. But there’s too much trash to take out. And he’s too heavy to carry alone. Oh no. I know exactly what to do. I’ll speak to Isiah tomorrow. Oh why did I do this? Oh why me? I have to chop this body up now. Yes, yes, I have to throw out this body now! I’ll unplug his phone, take his money, cover my tracks. I’ll speak to Isiah. I’ll speak to Isiah. I’ll speak to Isiah.
(Nigeria drags Eddie offstage)

(Scene end)

(Nigeria and Eddie return to lift up the black sheet to signify the end of the scene.)

4 thoughts on “Play: Inevitable Daughter — Act 1-3

    1. Quite a bit. The main reason was explained in the introduction. The fact of the matter is that Wholesome Youth Entertainment is a Fundamental, yet is very deficient among African people. For instance, if not Hip Hop, if not BET, if not Gambling, Standing on the Corner, Partying and Dancing, Blackspoitation Films, Violent Videogames, Television and what not, what are Black Youth supposed to do? What are Black Adults providing for Black Youth to do?

      For this reason, I provide Africans with a Play they can perform anywhere. Wholesome entertainment includes, though isn’t limited to, Theatre, Book Clubs, Poetry Circles, Drumming Circles, Toastmaster Groups, Art Collections and Pan-African Concerts. Yet no one needs to tell you how uncommon these are in African Communities

      The Pan-African crowd insists upon providing Lectures, Documentaries, Readings, Debates and Rallies, later complaining about the paucity of the presence of the youth. Yet of course young people don’t go there. It’s not entertaining. It’s not dramatic. It doesn’t touch their funny bone. It isn’t really date friendly. It isn’t even mingle friendly. It’s even sometimes depressing. Why in the world would a young person forsake drinking in a club among friends and available women to listen to a world far removed from their ambition, where no longer is that young person ‘funny man slim,’ or ‘pretty sue,’ or ‘the lady in the red dress’ but ‘the young stranger everyone talks about but no one talks to?”

      So my short answer is–It’s an example of providing Youth Entertainment. I envision that it an be performed on the streets, or even in Parks. People can gather around due the gripping dialogue.

      Other reasons include, but isn’t limited to, “Native Son” by Richard Wright and the fact that the Play format is pretty fulfilling.

      The following links show the book and my earlier play:

      http://readabookson.tumblr.com/

      https://africanbloodsiblings.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/dinner-after-europe-my-play-for-the-2nd-annual-national-black-hivaids-theatre-initiative/

      Thanks for reading, my entrepreneurial friend,

      1. Good explanation. Trying to undo the propaganda and brainwashing. I agree that we need more wholesome forms for black educational entertainment.

        Glad you’re here to make that happen for us.

      2. We are both here. You have prose pieces that astound even your more hostile critics. And as remarkable as you have always been, you have not yet stopped developing. You grow Sister. And you grow Strong. Thank you,

Please ask any questions that come to mind

