Play: Inevitable Daughter — Act 1-2

Back to Introduction

Inevitable Daughter Act 1-2
An African Blood Siblings Play

Characters: Nigeria, Judge Tom in a Mask [as Mr. Puxt], Somal in a Mask [as Eddie Puxt], Leah in a Mask [as Jane Torren]
Setting: Office (Mr. Puxt is seated alone at the uncovered Table with one chair facing the left)

(Nigeria enters from left and stands facing right)

Nigeria: Mr. Puxt?
Mr. Puxt: I’m surprised you aren’t late. You must be the new Black. You’re very fortunate to be working for me. I donate to the Democratic Party and they do wonders for African-Americans. What’s your name?
Nigeria: Nigeria Thompson, Sir.
Mr. Puxt: Oh yes, you. You’re the one in Puxt projects. A welfare case in that deeply criminal part of town. I’d feel awful around so much violence. But I’m sure you fit right in. Your people thrive in that environment. Anyway, do you understand your duties from now on?
Nigeria: No Sir.
Mr. Puxt: You’ll be getting minimum wage. My Son, who should be here presently–sorry, shortly–needs a Secretary. He’s not much younger than you, but he’s smart, so I’m putting him in charge of one of my other business ventures. You just listen to him.
Nigeria: Yes Sir.
Mr. Puxt: Now listen closely, I check this office every night. If anything is missing, I’ll put your head on a block. Do I make myself clear?
Nigeria: Yes Sir.
Mr. Puxt: Oh and come to work tomorrow. My Son won’t be here, but you’ll still have work to do.
Nigeria: Yes Sir.
Mr. Puxt: Do you have any questions?
Nigeria: No Sir.
Mr. Puxt: Then–
(Enter Eddie Puxt)
Mr. Puxt: Speaking of the Devil, here’s my Son Eddie.
Eddie: Malcolm X called White men Devils too.
Mr. Puxt: Don’t do this Son.
Eddie: Is this Nigeria Thompson?
(Extends his arms for a hug but Nigeria is hesitant)
Eddie: It’s alright. You can hug me.
Nigeria: Yes Sir.
(They hug)
Eddie: Father, you should let her sit in your chair.
Mr. Puxt: I’ll do no such thing.
Eddie: But this is her desk.
Mr. Puxt: When I’m ready she can sit.
Eddie: I’ll get you a chair Cousin, hold on.
(Eddie retrieves a chair and Nigeria Thompson sits)
Eddie: Have you heard of the African Blood Siblings?
Nigeria: No Sir.
Eddie: They are about Black Power and the end of European Domination over African people. Isn’t that a good idea to you?
(Nigeria looks at Mr. Puxt)
Eddie: The Domination of African people by the Barbaric European has been longstanding and undue. It’s high time we return to a world of African Glory and Europeans like myself retract to what our fate must be. If that is to become cave dwellers again, so be it. You know what I mean, Nigeria?
(Nigeria remains quiet)
Mr. Puxt: She’s never heard of your African Blood Siblings nor none of that nonsense you are talking. Everyone knows White people are superior to Black people.
Eddie: The Natives of this land had said it “The White man speaks with a forked tongue!”
Mr. Puxt: I can prove it! You noticed in school that there are gifted and non-gifted classes and Whites occupy the former and Blacks the latter. You noticed that there’s a Professional and Entertainment world out there, and Whites occupy the Former–Doctors, Lawyers, Businessman–and Blacks occupy the latter–Dancers, Singers, Ballplayers. In Mathematics, you’ve noticed that Euclid discovered Mathematical Laws in Ancient Greece and you’ve seen the impressive Architecture of Ancient Greece. In the Sciences, you’ve noticed that Isaac Newton discovered Gravity and Christopher Columbus discovered that the Earth was Round. And let’s never forget that Europeans produced Socrates, Plato and Aristotle, the three Wisest men in the history of humankind, whereas they only produce Criminals. Come. With all this evidence, it’s evident that Whites are Superior and Blacks are Inferior.
Eddie: That’s what we tell them. But Lady Lugard of England can answer all of that quickly. She says, and I quote, “while they are described as the most powerful, the most just, and the most beautiful of the human race, they are constantly spoken of as black, and there seems to be no other conclusion to be drawn, than that at that remote period of history the leading race of the Western world was a black race.”
Mr. Puxt: If I were not your Father, I would kill you. Nigeria, so help me, if you do anything in the name of Black Power I’ll have you killed. Do I make myself clear?
Nigeria: Yes Sir.
Eddie: He shouldn’t speak to you like that. You’re a Queen, you know?
Mr. Puxt: BOY!! I have other work to do. I’m going to get out of here. Nigeria you got the job, don’t screw it up.
Eddie: Before you go, our cleaning lady called in sick again.
Mr. Puxt: Make this Black girl take out the trash.
Eddie: I’ll do it. It’s too heavy for her now.
Mr. Puxt: Boy, I’m telling you, you’ll get yourself killed out here. Black Power is White Powerlessness.
Eddie: No, it’s White Powerlessness over Blacks.
Mr. Puxt: It’s a good thing you’re leaving tomorrow.
(Mr. Puxt exits)
Eddie: What a Devil, right?
(Nigeria is quiet)
Eddie: Have you really never heard of the African Blood Siblings?
Nigeria: Yes Sir.
Eddie: Call me Eddie.
Nigeria: Yes Sir.
Eddie: (Laughing) Can’t you tell that I’m not going to hurt you?
Nigeria: Yes Sir.
(Enter Jane Torren)
Jane: Hotep! Who is this Queen?
Eddie: Hotep Sister Jane. This Queen is Nigeria Thompson.
Jane: Hotep Cousin Nigeria! That’s a beautiful name!
Eddie: Nigeria, this is my girlfriend Jane Torren. Hug her.
(They hug)
Jane: She must have met your Father. She’s so cold.
Eddie: Nothing that a night on the town won’t fix. Let’s ditch this outfit. Drinks are on me!
Jane: Nigeria, where do you live?
Eddie: She’s in one of the Puxt projects. Maybe she can take us to one of those eateries. We can patronize a Black Business and empower her community in that way.
Jane: Knowing those neighborhoods, they never even saw White people eating there. Let’s head out. Are you cool with this Cousin?
(Nigeria is silent)
Jane: We have to get her a drink.
Eddie: We sure do.

(Jane and Eddie exit)

Nigeria (aside): What did I get into?

(Nigeria exits)

(Scene ends)

(Jane and Eddie return with a black sheet put up as a curtain to signify end of scene)

2 thoughts on “Play: Inevitable Daughter — Act 1-2

    1. Onitaset Post author

      Thank you, my Sister.

      Writing a separate scene every third day isn’t as easy as it sounds, but this play is certainly an enjoyable read, even for me. I recommend “Native Son” by Richard Wright for a more full experience (albeit different.)

      I learned that his novel is on http://readabookson.tumblr.com/

      Reply

Please ask any questions that come to mind

