Fable: The Manilkara Tree

Listen Siblings, I come in peace,

“I was attacked in Prospect Park the other day.” — Onitaset Kumat

Read this story and apply for its message to build an African Blood Siblings Community Center.  Write for information.  Subscribe, share, love.

Fable: The Manilkara Tree
By Onitaset Kumat

Source: http://www.fao.org/forestry/country/61326/en/cog/

I was attacked in Prospect Park the other day.

Out on a leisurely stroll, where trees were as black as night, something struck my leg, flooring me instantly, as the wind laughed with the trees. I covered my neck and called out, “Who is there?,” looking around for my assailant.

But both left and right, I saw no one, and heard only laughing trees.

It was dark, I was lost and I was not alone.

But as my nature, I welcome love, so re-adjusting myself, I sought my culprit and saw him as he looked upon me. We stared at one another as I sized him up. He was taller than I, at two-meters tall. He was thicker than I, and could certainly hit hard. And we had similar ancestry; both of us longed for the continent. I am a man, he is a Manilkara tree; standing less than one-twentieth the height of his Congolese Mother.

I smiled his way and grabbed a few of his seeds. Then I spoke, “A misplaced seed will not grow as tall. But though I can at least walk, I should only return with my family–and yours.”

The tree danced.

Even without words, the ancestors summon.

(Subscribe to Show Support)

Share and See:

Of Showing Our EmotionsShow Emotions!
Two of Aesop’s Fables and a lessonSmart Fables
Allegory of the Household CatOccidental Organization
Fable: The God-fearing HunterOccidental Theology
Fable: The Black Compliment Black Compliment

2 thoughts on “Fable: The Manilkara Tree

  1. Greetings Mr. Kumat,
    Jackson Shuri is my name. I am pleased to have read a few of the articles and post on your site. I see that you are the only subscriber to my blog. Thank you!
    I love and admire your voice. Such wisdom and knowledge and very well presented the material of your choosing.
    How did you come to learn of my blog, and why have you decided to follow it? I am an immigrant from Jamaica, you?

    How

    1. I thank you Jackson Shuri,

      But all those questions given me are due you, for you learned of my blog before I learned of your blog–you will notice that your introduction cited my reference of J.A. Rogers’. I chose to follow your own because I thought very quickly that I would like each update.

      I was born in the States.

      I thank you for the writing and the subscription. To my knowledge, subscribing is a slow process, but not for everyone. I think that those on many platforms, like facebook and twitter, can get followers much easier than those who depend solely on wordpress: for instance, some people have over a thousand subscribers from the short time that they were on the net.

      I am glad that I am your first. My first subscriber is an excellent person. If you need anything, let me know what I can do.

      Also, if you want to write a post for me, I would be grateful. I concern myself with the organization of African people, so there may be a criterion, but outside that it would honour me. With determination, it may mutually benefit us.

      Here is an idea of a similar request:

      https://africanbloodsiblings.wordpress.com/2011/11/08/africans-should-love-everyone/#comment-612

      Hotep,

Please ask any questions that come to mind

