Don’t slaves that run away return sometimes?

Listen Siblings, I come in peace,

“Altruism is the mark of a superior being.”KMT Proverb

You are the greatest being in the world.  Though you were enslaved, your intelligence was unparalleled.  The following story attests.  It’s worth putting into your consciousness, though, that the story below relates to the African Blood Siblings’ (ABS) project.  The ABS promotes diligent readership to create intelligent leadership.  Intelligent leaders are a result of a Community’s investment.  The ABS is the only organization creating Community Centers around the world.  Below you’ll read of our enslavement and what Canada truly was: (just as the ABS is creating) A Community Center for Liberation.  If you are impressed with your ancestors, if you honor your ancestors, please apply to the African Blood Siblings.  Write to create African Blood Siblings Community Centers.  Be your grand self.  Subscribe, share, love.

From the Sufferings of Lewis and Milton Clarke
Dictated by Themselves
Boston: Bela Marsh, 1846

Don’t slaves that run away return sometimes? —Yes; there was one returned from Canada, very sorry he had run away. His master was delighted with him; thought he had him sure for life, and made much of him. He was sent round to tell how bad Canada was. He had a sermon for the public,—the ear of the masters,—and another for the slaves. How many he enlightened about the best way to get there, I don’t know. His master, at last, was so sure of him, that he let him take his wife and children and go over to Ohio, to a camp-meeting, all fitted out in good style, with horse and wagon. They never stopped to hear any preaching, till they heard the waves of the lakes lift up their cheerful voices between them and the oppressor. George then wrote an affectionate note to his master, inviting him to take tea with him in Canada, beyond the waters, the barrier of freedom. Whether the old people ever went up to Canada, to see their affectionate children, I have not learned. I have heard of several instances very much like the above.

Read More Questions and Answers from 1846: http://utc.iath.virginia.edu/abolitn/abaulcat.html

9 thoughts on “Don’t slaves that run away return sometimes?

    1. Onitaset Post author

      Sister Truthbetold,

      No. Though this is the trouble with commenting before we read. :)

      Still, we are blessed that you did for you inform on one of the psychological issues with which I most try to wrestle. Our conception of self and Europeans is ofttimes European. It’s this with which we must do away.

      For this true article of history is so much more impressive than a European’s conception of Africans or Europeans will allow. I kept smiling and laughing after reading this story. To me, referencing ‘drapetomania,’ while informative, takes away from our ancestor’s personal conception and sacrifice.

      Though, I should say, that I am very proud to have you writing here. I had earlier, before you wrote here, written out my basic four characters. And in thinking on it, I found that you fit one of them. And ironically, you fit the young female protagonist for she too is informative. I noticed from your blog that you are in the habit of unclothing the wolf’s wool sweater. I think that is a swell endeavor and you represent a great ‘character’ in the African canon: someone who is informative.

      You’ll notice in most media (White or Black) that we do not have those sort of characters and neither does the European. So come time that I write out the characters, I hope that whatever instruction I outlay, you will be one to follow them.

      Thank you for commenting, but please read what our ancestor wrote, I’m sure that you’ll love it,

      Reply
  1. diaryofanegress

    This is one of the hardest and most difficult pieces I’ve ever read. I’m almost unprepared for it. I feel sick , because it is indeed sick…but pitiful that the white mind is so diseased.

    I’m also filled with a strange pride at our people. This is incredibly hard reading….especially reading about the mothers that killed their own children to protect them from a life of derangement. Even the Bible, which I read regularly, is an invention of supremacy. I’m a little speechless.

    Reply
    1. Onitaset Post author

      I see that you read Lewis Clarke’s testimonies above linked. You are a voracious reader. Which questions particularly influenced your speechlessness?

      Another great reading is http://africanbloodsiblings.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/an-occidentals-account-on-the-two-hundred-mile-trek-to-the-slave-pens/

      It’s a reason why no Brother in his right mind can talk bad about a Sister. It’s also why I often honor Nzinga and our other ancestors.

      Here’s an honoring of our Sisters: http://africanbloodsiblings.wordpress.com/2012/04/27/we-are-nbogboni/

      Here’s another libation: http://africanbloodsiblings.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/an-african-libation/

      I’m glad enough to lead a well-read Sister to a difficult reading. But let’s not forget to collect our team. :)

      Reply
  2. TorontoGirl

    As a “Canadian” I’m ashamed to call myself one now that I’ve learnt the history…AA coming to Canada didn’t have rights. I started realizing a pattern everytime someone gets a right, they would add at the end “but minorities still couldnt”. It got me the most when women got the right to join government and the teacher was acting as if we’re supposed to be glad “we” “women” got the right to be in office. When again minorities didn’t get any rights. So how was I supposed to be glad?

    Reply
    1. Onitaset Post author

      Kandake (Warrior Queen-Mother)

      “If the Master teaches what is error, the disciple’s submission is slavery; if he teaches truth, this submission is ennoblement.”

      Every Race belongs to a Nation. The European in Canada belongs to a European Nation. As an African in Canada, Europeans taught you an erroneous Nationality to Enslave you further. For instance, here in the United States, Africans go to Africa as Soldiers for U.S. Imperialism despite the contradiction and backwardness there.

      As long as we submit to the Truth, we are ennobled.

      Reply
      1. TorontoGirl

        “For instance, here in the United States, Africans go to Africa as Soldiers for U.S. Imperialism despite the contradiction and backwardness there.”
        That’s so true, it took me a long time to realize my Nigerian friends were right I’m not Canadian, and that’s not my identity or culture…thanks, I love your blog truly!

      2. Onitaset Post author

        Kandake (Warrior Queen-Mother),

        “As to deserving, know that the gift of Heaven is free; this gift of Knowledge is so great that no effort whatever could hope to ‘deserve’ it.” — African Proverb

        I am thankful for this conversation. Have you read the Dorner post? Here was an African who thought he was an American. He nearly woke up but America moved 10,000 Europeans against him. They burned him in a building. This was a few months ago (February).

        http://africanbloodsiblings.wordpress.com/2013/02/09/of-analyzing-christopher-jordan-dorners-manifesto/

A reading man and woman is a ready man and woman, but a writing man and woman is exact.

